Honest Review: Silicone Makeup “Sponge”

Hello, Lovely!

Today I am going to give you an honest review of one of the most recent makeup trends: the silicone makeup sponge. I will tell you why I am not a fan of the product as it was advertised, but I now use it in my every day makeup routine.

I am always looking for new ways to up my makeup game, so when I heard about the miracle blending sponge that doesn’t waste any product, I HAD to try it! I ordered mine from Molly Cosmetics. It took quite a while to get this in the mail because of the massive waiting list. I was most excited about the awesome price point of this product- $9.90!

Once I received it in the mail, I immediately took my makeup off just to re-apply it with this “sponge.” The silicone “sponge” is very flat, and not sponge-like at all- as you can see in the pictures below.

 

20170205_121516

20170205_121541

Now, I am going to be completely honest with you. This silicone “sponge” does not blend foundation AT ALL. No matter how much I tried to work with it, my foundation was patchy. The “sponge” does not move well, so getting into the smaller crevices of your face is impossible.

That being said- I use this silicone “sponge” every single day! It is absolutely *terrible* for blending, but this product soaks up zero foundation. So what I do is apply a small amount of foundation to the silicone sponge, and apply the foundation as best as I can. Then I go in with my trusty Beauty Blender to fully blend my foundation and correct any imperfections left behind from the silicone sponge.This gives me a flawless finish AND wastes much less product! I now use half the foundation I used before, because the silicone “sponge” doesn’t soak up any of the product during the initial application.

Do I recommend this silicone sponge as your only tool for applying foundation? Absolutely not. However, if you’re looking to save money by using less foundation and you don’t mind adding an extra step in your makeup routine, this is perfect for you!

 

 

Leave a Reply

