A Cheap Dupe for $38 Highlighter?

Hello, Lovely!

Today I’d like to share with you my newest favorite product: BH Cosmetics Spotlight highlighter! It is cheap, versatile, and- in my opinion- better than high end brands.

First off, it comes in decent packaging that closes with a magnet. I personally like this because it’s easy to open, and the top folds backwards which makes for a comfortable grip. The pan sizes of the 6 colors are a generous size, and it has a nice range of colors. And the very best part? THE PRICE OF THIS PALETTE IS $16.99!!!

20170404_174305-01.jpeg

20170404_174718-01As soon as I got this opened, I immediately started swatching. The swatches below were taken from this palette from left to right. I used the Milk blur stick underneath because I wanted something to use as a base, but I didn’t want any color interference from a foundation. I used my finger to swatch each color.

These colors are so smooth and so pigmented! This makes it incredibly easy to apply using any method (brush, sponge, finger, etc.)  The consistency is similar to that of a Becca highlighter.

The range of color is beautiful! I am fair skinned, so it’s always a struggle to find a shade of highlighter that shows up, but still looks natural and glowy. This palette has multiple colors that do that for me: Ethereal, Glow, and Vivid. The other colors would be beautiful on darker skin tones. While I won’t wear the darker colors as highlighters, I will definitely be using them as eye shadows because the colors are just *that* gorgeous!

As I mentioned previously, these highlighters feel SO similar to the Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector highlighter, and I  would actually consider this palette to be a dupe for the Becca product. Keep in mind that the Becca highlighter is $38 a piece, and the palette above is $16.99 for 6 colors. The Becca highlighter is .19 oz, compared to the BH Cosmetics which is 1.16 oz- so not only are you paying less, you are getting more product as well.

Pictured below is a swatch comparison of Becca’s Pearl and Moonstone highlighters, next to BH Cosmetics highlighters in Glow and Ethereal. As you can see, they are incredibly comparable in pigmentation, as well as texture.

20170404_175115-01-01

As far as the overall wear of the product, BH Cosmetics is once again a winner in my eyes. It stayed fresh looking all day long, even though I was sweating throughout parts of the day. It never gathers or streaks on top of my foundation either, so at the end of the day my makeup is just as even as it was when I first applied it.

I hope this helps anyone who is looking to buy an amazing quality highlighter, without paying the high quality price 🙂

Here’s the link to purchase this lovely palette: http://www.bhcosmetics.com/face/bronzers-highlighters/spotlight-highlight-6-color-palette

I am not affiliated with this company in any way. This review is based fully on my experience with this product, and I payed full price for it with my own money. Plus, I am nowhere near popular enough to have any company affiliation or sponsorship 😀

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

